It was Ruth"s first year with the Yankees and Jackson"s last year in professional baseball. There was an overflow crowd at Comiskey Park that spilled onto the outfield. So when Babe hit a long fly that disappeared into the left-field crowd along with Shoeless Joe, Ruth stopped at second base for a ground-rule double. Until, that is, Hall of Fame umpire Tom Connolly took Jackson"s word that he"d actually caught the ball—a claim refuted by nearby spectators. (The scene of Ruth and Huggins arguing with Connolly is linked on our website.) Presented is the two-page complaint letter lodged two days later on official Yankees stationery (8-1/2 x 11", EX) to AL President Ban Johnson. Filed under "BBJ Miscellaneous" according to a pencil notation, the unsigned duplicate copy must be read in full for true appreciation of its immense historical significance. A transcript is available on our website, and a PR-condition copy of the game program is also included."My Dear Mr. Johnson: The New York American League club protests the game played with the White Sox in Chicago of August 1st. Mr Connelly [sic], the umpire, was so notified of the protest at the proper time. The New York Club claims in making its protest that the umpire, Mr Connelly, violated a rule that was made and agreed upon prior to the beginning of the game which was, that a ball batted into the crowd entitled the batsman to two bases. The facts relative to the explanation of the protest are as follows: Babe Ruth, the first batter for the New York Club, in the fourth inning, hit a long fly into left field. The crowd by this time was standing and sitting about fifteen feet in front of the ropes. Jackson went back into the crowd for the ball. The umpire declared Ruth out, saying that Jackson had caught the ball as he fell up against the ropes in the crowd. The ball was not thrown back on the field at all. The man who got the ball came into our dressing room after the game, and offered it to Manager Huggins and so told Manager Huggins, that Jackson did not catch the ball. The above explanation is made as a matter of detail as to what happened. The New York club"s claim is that the moment Jackson went into the crowd Mr Connelly, the Umpire, should have immediately allowed Ruth a two base hit. If same was done, the New York club would have made several runs, as several hits followed the play. Rule 63 does not apply in this case, as it was a violation of a rule made and agreed upon by both clubs and the umpire. If its permissible for a fielder to go into a crowd for a fly ball, then the rule does not afford equal protection to both clubs, for as it is well known, that a home crowd will not give way to a visiting fielder. The New York Club further claims that if after a rule is made and agreed upon, as was done, that it was permissible for Jackson to go into the crowd and get the ball, that the umpire upon the failure of Jackson to return the ball, should have reversed any decision that was made to the effect in this case, that the ball was caught. The umpire admits that Jackson did not return the ball, and that another ball, was used to resume playing."